Photo by Frank Zhang on Unsplash

Healthiest, freshest, highest quality boba in the SF Bay Area review

Christie Tang
8 min readNov 22, 2022

--

This isn’t my usual content since I write about design, but my friends have too many a times earnestly urged me to write my review on the best boba in the bay area. I’ve lived in many cities including Shanghai, I have a pretty refined palette and enjoy scouring for the best restaurants, I have a decent understanding of nutrition doing keto for many years and all kinds of diets, and am a self-acclaimed badass cook. I really love boba; it’s even written on my license plate. But nonetheless, I have no actual credentials (but then again who does?), and these are just the opinions of a no-name designer and a random person on the internet.

I am not being sponsored or getting a commission for writing this, but I would LOVE to be supported :D

Things to look for

Let me just first start off by saying good boba is a very sensitive topic for hardcore boba fans. Everyone has different tastes and different things they care about. This Christie-approved list is only based on my own personal preferences, which are extremely high standards. I’m a health nerd, so everything I care about is around a good-tasting drink that is also healthy, which means I don’t get sugar in my drinks.

1. No syrups, artificial sweeteners, or powders

--

--

Christie Tang

Product Designer at Meta. Jury at Awwwards. eSports enthusiast. Bonafide nerd. Ketogenic foodie. Sarcastic and crass INTJ. Design casually explained.